Silent video poems


Excerpt of “YohyYo” by Roberta Lazo Valenzuela.

This project is the result of the experimentation with video in an exercise to visual composition. The concept is the visualization of sound without sound: soundless video poems, that suggest a certain musicality (inner-sound) throughout the visual.

The visual composition of this soundless video poems was developed within the exploration of two main ideas: the first one and most recognizable, is the creation of what I call “bugs”, in which the human body is deformed in the video to create a new figure similar to an insect while keeping its own particular “human” behavior. The second one is an experimentation of the narrative of time that I named “simultaneous fragmentation”, in which a short extract of a movement is fragmented, repeated, inverted and manipulated in a way that a moment is the content of a past, present and future that coexist in the same image.

The video has a total duration of 9’48’’ minutes and consists on 14 poems and it’s available in 3 versions: for one screen (16:9), 2 separate screens (16:9 x2) and two merged screens (32:9).

Dancer: Yoh Morishita.

Still frame of “YohyYo” by Roberta Lazo Valenzuela.


  • 20 May 2017 – BodySoundSpace – Kapu, Linz
  • 7 June 2017 – Plan B – Porgy & bess, Vienna
  • 13 June 2017 – Sound & Vision – Bruckner Universität, Linz
  • 5 Dec 2017 – Festival Leicht über Linz
  • 15 May 2018 – Masterabschlusskonzert – Bruckner Universität, Linz
  • 3 April 2019 – Periferien Festival – Oslo, Norway

If you are interested in watching the complete series of poems please feel free to contact me.